, , , , ,


LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s “Sandwiching in History” program will visit St. John’s Seminary at 2500 N. Tyler St. in Little Rock at noon on Friday, March 1.

Morris Hall, Saint John's Seminary, Little Rock

Morris Hall, Saint John’s Seminary, Little Rock

St. John’s Seminary was established in 1911 by Bishop John Baptist Morris to develop and expand Catholic missions in Arkansas. The seminary began in a building at the southeast corner of 25th (Roosevelt) and State streets in Little Rock, and in 1916, along with Little Rock College, it relocated to a 40-acre site in Pulaski Heights. The Gothic Revival-style Morris Hall was built in 1916 and served as a dormitory, offices, classrooms and a chapel. The seminary closed in 1967 due to financial constraints and low enrollment. In 1968 the former St. John’s Seminary campus became St. John Catholic Center, the offices of the Diocese of Little Rock. The tour will begin at Morris Hall.
The “Sandwiching in History” tour series targets Pulaski County structures and sites. The noontime series includes a brief lecture and tour of the subject property. Participants are encouraged to bring their lunches with them.
Other “Sandwiching in History” tours will be held April 5, Charles Youngblood House, 320 West 18th Street, North Little Rock; May 3, Farmer-Brooks House, 623 Orange Street, North Little Rock; June 7, Little Rock YMCA, 524 South Broadway, Little Rock; July 12, Villa Marre, 1321 Scott Street, Little Rock; August 2, Emmett W. Jenkins House, 923 West 24th Street, Little Rock; September 6, Pulaski Heights Baptist Church, 2200 Kavanaugh Boulevard, Little Rock; October 4, Lakewood Park, 4500 Lakeshore Drive, North Little Rock; November 1, Edward H. Colgan House, 2318 South Summit Street, Little Rock, and December 6, Faucette-Cook Building, 421-423-425 Main Street, North Little Rock.
All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 323 Center St., Suite 1500, Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to info@arkansaspreservation.org, or visit http://www.arkansaspreservation.org.
The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.